Tucker Cummings Miller

The Strange Adventures of Margery Jones

In Uncategorized on January 1, 2011 at 1:48 am

In 2010, I set an ambitious goal: completing one NaNoWriMo-style novel per month. It was stupidly ambitious at the outset, and became absolutely impossible for me to do with all the various changes in my life, including starting a new job.

So while I failed at becoming a prolific novelist during 2010, I did manage to become a prolific micro-fiction writer, winning several flash/Twitter fiction contests, and getting a number of short pieces published around the web.

Someday, I hope to pull off the 12 in 365 goal I set for myself. But for now, I’m doing to set a goal I know I can achieve, even on those days when I’m working 14+ hours.

Every day during 2011, I’ll be posting a brand new piece of microfiction here. These pieces will be episodic, but will create a cohesive storyline.

Microfiction (aka flash fiction, or short-short fiction, or drabbles) has been variously defined in terms of word/character count. Some say it’s anything under 500 w0rds, others say under 250 words…and then there is the realm of Twitter fiction, where we limit ourselves to a mere 140 characters.

For my purposes, I’m setting a limit of 100 words per day. It’s a nice round number, and definitely an easy goal to achieve on a daily basis. Some of the “chapters” might be more than 100 words….but probably not. The best part about writing microfiction is creating a world and a plot within such a limited amount of literary real estate.

By this time next year, I’ll have a 36,500-word story. Definitely not a novel, but nothing to sneeze at either.

So who is Margery Jones?

Just an average woman. Average in every way, except one: she has the ability to visit any parallel universe where an alternate version of herself exists.

Some people believe that there is not just one universe, but trillions upon trillions. Every time we make a decision, the universes splinter off.

Say you’re making toast, and you have to decide between peanut butter or jam. You choose jam, and instantly, another universe springs into being where you picked peanut butter.

So what would you do if you could see the outcome of every decision you ever made? Would you stay in your own universe, or would you explore another world where you think your life may have turned out very differently?

Is the grass always greener?

Leave a Reply

